My Portrait Photography Story

Ciao! It’s Chams. I have been into photography lately, and I really love taking portraits. I just want to share with you all my portrait photography story. My inspirations, my style, and how I do it. πŸ™‚


Getting inspirations

Before I started blogging, I was really a YouTube junkie. I always watch a lot of YouTubers, and one of my favorites is Nadine Felice. She is a Filipina YouTuber who does beauty, lifestyle, vlogs and pep talk videos. I always liked her content and aesthetics, then I came across to one of her vlogs where she did portrait photography with her friends. I became super interested with portrait photography so I tweeted her and asked, “Nades, how do you shoot portraits?!” Her reply was “Watch Jessica Whitaker on YouTube!” So, I immediately went over to Jessica’s channel and watched her videos. She does portrait photography behind-the-scenes videos and she shares her photography tips and tricks as well. I really like her style and her resourcefulness, because she does not use any photography accessories and her tutorials are fit for beginners like me.

Start of something new

djs
camera used: Canon 1100D

After getting all the inspirations online, I tapped my good friend Pauline to shoot with me, because she’s also a photography enthusiast. We brought our own cameras and met up one afternoon. We literally had no idea how to start shooting, and we at least tried to do few poses at the mall parking lot before we head over to our target location. We did not expect that it would be that fun! We thought it would be really awkward at first, but we felt the opposite.

cnc

Light

We started shooting at around 4 in the afternoon, photographers call it the “golden hour” because the sun gives off a redder and softer light in photos. Golden hour is the period shortly after sunrise or before sunset. We really loved the natural light and how it really highlighted the photos we took.

Location

As I’ve mentioned before, we started shooting at a mall parking lot to test-shot photos and to condition ourselves. It was an open parking space at the rooftop and we really liked it. We then moved to University of the Philippines and found a newly-built building with lots of cute walls. Good thing, there were few people there so the whole place was ours! Yay!

Style

sty

We didn’t really talked about our style before Pauline and I went for the shoot. But we kind of did retro aesthetic for this. She wore a white ringer tee, denim jeans and white sneakers that she paired with cute socks. I really liked her style, it was really simple but it gave out a nice statement. πŸ™‚

Editing

Since I don’t have any fancy photo editing software, like Photoshop or Lightroom, I just processed the photos with VSCO with the free presets. I used C1 and P5 presets for some of the photos.

csn


As beginners, we really think we did a great job and we also learned a lot from our first shoot. The struggle for me was my camera, because the camera I used is our 5-year old Canon 1100D, and the kit lens were a bit old and the autofocus is not working anymore. I really find it hard to use manual focus because of my blurry vision and sometimes, when the light is too bright. Nevertheless, it was really fun and I’ve learned a lot! I can’t wait to post more of my portrait stories. πŸ™‚

🌸 Chams


ccscs

You can find Pauline’s blog 🌸 here 🌸

Other people mentioned:

🌸 Nadine Felice

🌸 Jessica Whitaker

signature

19 thoughts on “My Portrait Photography Story

  1. I love your style! I was a portrait photographer for a few years and there are many learning curves! I know what you mean about feeling awkward haha it was definitely really awkward at first (at least I felt that way) when I did a shoot for a family of strangers the first time. Over time it gets better though and you start having somewhat of a routine or ways that just work for you, the camera, and the subject. Can’t wait to see your next shoot!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the lovely words, Keira! I want to improve more and I want to upgrade for a prime lens soon for better looking photos. The awkwardness was there but it’ll eventually slip away πŸ™‚ I’m excited to check out your blog and see your photos ✨

      Like

  2. The photos are so good. I don’t have any self-portraits, huhu. I wish I have someone to shoot with, but I’m focusing more on landscapes now. Taking photos can be so fun, even for newbies like me.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the lovely words, Richel! I would recommend you to have your friend as a model, so that it wouldn’t be as awkward. And you should definitely watch youtube videos to get inspirations ✨ Would love to see some your photos! ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

